The Summer of Michael!!!

Listen up people! I’m gonna be straight with you. I went to college and have around 40 more pounds of “me” to show for it. Here’s the facts…

  • My degree is officially “Molecular and Cellular Biology” with an emphasis in Infectious Disease & Immunity as well as Microbiology. I get very little sleep.
  • My GPA is roughly 3.02. If you feel any inkling of judgment, refer to the previous bullet point before throwing yourself off something high.
  • My weight is now… … … my weight has become severely unattractive. Alright, it’s 310. Not that it helps but I AM 6’2” depending on which grocery store I’m leaving.

The following is a photo montage of my fatty escapades…

This was me just a few weeks into freshman year.

My first attempt at exercise

.

This is… well…just sad really.

Image

A masterpiece in frozen cream.

Here’s the promo pic for a show I did. Principal role freshman year at a respected university? I don’t have enough hair to flip.

Here is a picture of me on spring break. Draw your own conclusions.

And finally, here’s me eating more obscene amounts of ice cream.

We can clearly see some weight gain here. It doesn’t appear to be too much more than your standard freshman 15 but that’s only because it takes a lot more lb’s to make a visible difference when you’re already a Michelin man look-alike. So, what am I doing to remedy the situation?

  1. The Fit Bit: I bought a Fit Bit! This is snazzy little pedometer that helps me track steps taken, distance traveled, and calories burned. The recommended amount of steps for weight loss is 10,000 but I’m aiming to go above and beyond.
  2. Apps: I’m using apps like MyFitnessPal to track my caloric intake. The important part here is that I make it part of my daily routine. I want to limit my caloric intake to around 1000-1200 calories per day. This is a slight stretch but I’ve done it before.
  3. Math: 3500 Calories = 1lb, 10,000 steps/day = 5 miles/day = -3500 calories/week. Just these two conversions should give me a good starting point to assess how I approach exercise. There are roughly 14 weeks left of summer vacation. This means that for every 5 miles a day I walk for the next 14 weeks, I will lose roughly 14 pounds! However, this doesn’t take into account what I eat. I will be supplementing the walking with sit-ups and other exercises.
  4. This Blog: I’ll be keeping you updated on my progress as I progress throughout the 14 weeks. I hope to post my weight, exercise and a food journal online for the public to hold me accountable.

So, in a nutshell, this is all going to suck but it’ll suck a lot less with your support/chastisement as I go along.

~I’ll be feeding you seconds in no time,

Michael

Leave a Reply

