Limited Involvement Sports

Being a good 50 pounds out of shape, I know what it’s like to be last-picked, or at the back of the pack in any race. But over time, there are a few sports that have popped out to me as being what I like to call limited involvement sports. These are sports where players aren’t always forced to act or exert themselves and enjoy the activities rather than worry about letting the team down. Here are some sports that I have definitely deemed limited involvement sports.

Cross Country

  • Okay, so surprise surprise: I used to run cross country. One of the things I loved about it was the fact that, in the end, you were out there to run. I never worried about winning until I was on the home stretch. Winning can be from the other 500 guys on the team. It’s just you, nature, and the mud in your cleats.

Ultimate Frisbee

  • Ultimate Frisbee is great and I only say that because I’m totally biased. There are enough people on a recreational team for you to not have to constantly be open for a pass and even if you do need to be in the game, it doesn’t get more demanding than throwing a Frisbee.

Soccer

  • I’ll be honest, I was the best damn goalie there ever was (and by that I mean worst). Look, the point is, you have plenty of opportunities to take it easy in this sport. Whether it be through sitting in the goal a while or letting your partner in forward, midfield, & defense, take the reins when need be. Also, there are many opportunities to find recreational leagues in soccer.

I’m not saying these are slacker sports, but they don’t have to be as intense for the player on others. This is probably why I love them so much.

I’ll be feeding you seconds in no time~

Michael

Leave a Reply

