Chow Mein Chowdown

Okay, so there’s a long running stereotype about Chinese food leaving you hungry 30 minutes after eating it. At least that’s what I’ve been told, considering all food leaves me hungry for more. But with my mommy-and-me date being cut short by an unanticipated lack availability in the joint, I got to thinking about culinary conundrum over a Combinacion Platter at Tapalpa’s in Schaumburg. I began immediately to think of portion sizes. The Chinese, in general, shovel less onto their plates then us redwhiteand-blues do. But this is a stereotype formed by Americans, thus, more Chinese food on the plate. The I got around to thinking about MSG but after a little research, I couldn’t find any link between MSG and appetite. My guess is going to have to be with the content. Rice, while high in carbohydrates, has a very low protein content. Chicken, beef, and pork are all higher in protein but are less of a staple. I conclude that it comes down to what you order. Panda Express Orange Chicken: you’re set. An order of white rice: maybe not so much. So there you have it America. Order wisely.

I’ll be feeding you seconds in no time~
Michael

Leave a Reply

